All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis.

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Booker T. & The M.G.'s Discography

Formed in Memphis, Tennessee, U.S.A., in 1962 taken from part of the Mar-Keys, the group comprised:

Booker T. Jones (b. 12th November 1944, Memphis, Tennessee, U.S.A; organ)
Steve Cropper (b. 21st October 1941, Willow Spring, Missouri, U.S.A; guitar)
Lewis Steinberg (bass)
and AI Jackson Jr. (b. 27th November 1934, Memphis, Tennessee, U.S.A., d. 1st October 1975, Memphis, Tennessee, U.S.A; drums).

Read More @ Blax-Pride


  • Green Onions (Stax 1962)
  • Mo' Onions (1963)
  • Soul Dressing (Stax 1965)
  • My Sweet Potato (1965)
  • And Now! (Stax 1966)
  • In The Christmas Spirit (Stax 1966
  • Hip Hug-Her (Stax 1967)
  • with the Mar-Keys: Back To Back (Stax 1967)
  • Doin' Our Thing (Stax 1968)
  • Soul Limbo (Stax 1968)
  • Uptight (Stax 1969)
  • The Booker T Set (Stax 1969)
  • McLemore Avenue (Stax 1970)
  • Melting Pot (Stax 1971)
  • as the MG's: The MGs (Stax 1973)
  • Memphis Sound (Warners 1975)
  • Union Extended (Warners 1976)
  • Time Is Tight (Warners 1976)
  • Universal Language (Asylum 1977)
  • Play the Hip Hits (1995) - previously unissued tracks
  • With the Mar-Keys : Stax Instrumentals (2002)

Solo: Booker T. Jones
  • Try and Love Again (A&M 1978)
  • The Best Of You (A&M 1980)
  • I Want You (A&M 1981)
  • The Runaway (MCA 1989)
  • That's The Way It Should Be (Columbia 1994)
  • Potato Hole (2009)

  • Greatest Hits (1994)
  • Best of Booker T and the MGs

  • 1968 - Winterland, San Francisco - early show
  • 1968 - Winterland, San Francisco - late show
  • 1977 - Bottom Line, New York
  • 1991 - Live At Slims


  • "Heads or Tails" - also great overview article

  • Booker T : "Don't Stop Your Love" (1981) - 12" single

  • "Melting Pot" (Ritual Session) 12" - Louie Vega (2004)

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Quincy Jones Discography

Quincy Jones is a traveler - a traveler on a more than 50-year journey through the music business, unlike that of any other musician. Born and raised on the South Side of Chicago, Quincy and his brother frequently spent time with their grandmother in Louisville, OH. In 1943, their father, Quincy Sr separated from his wife Sarah and moved together with his boys to Sinclair Heights, WA where they met their stepmother Elvera.

Read More @ Blax-Pride






Thanks to Fresh Sly, dvoid and others

Friday, January 2, 2009

Herbie Hancock Discography

Herbie Hancock: An Introduction
Herbie Hancock is a true icon of modern music. Throughout his explorations, he has transcended limitations and genres while still maintaining his unique, unmistakable voice. Herbie's success at expanding the possibilities of musical thought has placed him in the annals of this century's visionaries. With an illustrious career spanning five decades, he continues to amaze audiences and never ceases to expand the public's vision of what music, particularly jazz, is all about today.

Read More @ Blax-Pride







Headhunters without Herbie!


Sideman Discography

Simon says : OK, this might be too massive an idea, but I'll just start adding sideman albums when I feel like it. Please leave blog links or upload things in the comments, that might have a lot to do with how far this gets ... have barely started on the Miles, for example ... want to help?

Thanks Fresh Sly for your hard work on this discography.

Visit Blaxpploitation Pride for information on your favorite blaxploitation movies and soundtracks.