All data and information provided on this site is for informational purposes only. makes no representations as to accuracy, completeness, currentness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site and will not be liable for any errors, omissions, or delays in this information or any losses, injuries, or damages arising from its display or use. All information is provided on an as-is basis.

Monday, June 23, 2008

Curtis Mayfield Discography

b. 3rd June 1942, Chicago, Illinois, U.S.A.

d. 26th December 1999, North Fulton Regional Hospital, Roswell, Georgia, U.S.A.


Curtis Mayfield has played a major pivotal role in soul music over the last 40 years and has influenced countless musicians (and politicians).

Between 1961 and 1971, he wrote a succession of influential singles for his group, including 'Gypsy Woman' (1961), 'It's All Right, (1963), 'People Get Ready' (1965), 'We're A Winner' (1968) and 'Choice Of Colours' (1969).

Curtis wrote tender love songs and those protesting social and political equality.

Decades later Bob Marley lifted lines from 'People Get Ready' to populate his own recording, 'One Love'.

Two independent record companies, Windy C and Curtom, emphasized Mayfield's important role within black music, while his continued support for other artists as composer, producer or session guitarist, enhanced a reputation beyond that of just a singer.

Jerry Butler, Major Lance, Gene Chandler and Walter Jackson are among the many Chicago-based singers benefiting from Mayfield's songwriting skills.

Having parted company with The Impressions in 1970, Curtis began his solo career with '(Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go', a suitably astringent protest song.

The following year Mayfield penned his biggest UK success when 'Move On Up', reached number 12, an energetic dancer that charted in the USA and U.K. alike.

There, the awards continued as success was maintained with 'Freddie's Dead' (US R & B number 2 / number 4 pop hit) and the theme from 'Superfly' (1972), a 'blaxploitation' film that he also, wrote.

Both singles and the album achieved gold status, inspiring further excursions into the movies.

The soundtracks including 'Claudine', 'A Piece Of The Action', 'Sparkle' and 'Short Eyes', the last of which featured Mayfield in an acting role.

The singer continued to prove popular and subsequent work, including his production of Aretha Franklin's 1978 album, 'Almighty Fire' is held in high regard.

In 1981, he joined the Boardwalk label, for which he recorded 'Honesty', his strongest album since the days of the early 70's.

The death of the label's managing director left an enormous gap, and Mayfield's career was then blighted by music industry lethargy.

The singer remained a highly popular live attraction, particularly in Britain where '(Celebrate) The Day After You', a collaboration with the Blow Monkeys, became a minor hit.

In 1990, a freak accident, in which part of a public address rig collapsed on top of him during a concert, left Mayfield permanently paralyzed from the neck down.

The effects, both personal and professional, proved costly, but not completely devastating in terms of his musical career.

The material from 'BBC Radio 1 Live In Concert' was gathered from the gig at London's Town And Country Club during Mayfield's 1990 European tour.

In 1993, Warner Brothers released 'A Tribute To Curtis Mayfield' featuring various artists including Lenny Kravitz, Whitney Houston, Aretha Franklin, Bruce Springsteen, Rod Stewart, Elton John and Steve Winwood, which was an excellent tribute to the Mayfield songbook.

Aretha's version of 'The Makings Of You' was excellent.

A year later Charly Records reissued the majority of Mayfields 70's albums on CD as well as several compilations.

In 1996,Rhino Records gathered the best package in a three-CD box set.

At the end of 1996, a new album, 'New World Order' , was released to excellent reviews.

During the recording of 'New World Order', Mayfield had to lie on his front, supended by a harness, in order to give some gravitational power to his voice.

His contribution to soul music has been immense, whatever the limitations of his disability, his voice, however, remained perfect, sensitive and unique.

On Boxing Day 1999, Curtis passed away in his sleep at the North Fulton Regional Hospital in Roswell, Georgia, U.S.A. His contribution to society and music is unmeasurable. Curtis Mayfield Obituary

'Pusherman' is utilised as part of the American curriculum in the fight against drugs.

Article From: Links Provided By: FunkyUniversum

  • Curtis (1970)
  • Live (1971) / FLAC
  • Roots (1971)
  • Superfly (1972)
  • Back To The World (1973)
  • Curtis In Chicago (1973)
  • Sweet Exorcist (1974)
  • Got To Find A Way (1974)
  • There Is No Place Like America Today (1975)
  • Give, Get, Take and Have (1976)
  • Never Say You Can't Survive (1977)
  • Do It All Night (1977)
  • Short Eyes (OST) (1977)
  • Heartbeat (1979)
  • Something To Believe In (1980)
  • The Right Combination (with Linda Clifford) (1980)
  • Love Is The Place (1981)
  • Honesty (1983)
  • We Come in Peace With a Message of Love (1985)
  • Live in Europe (1988)
  • Take It To the Streets (1990)
  • New World Order (1996)
some alternative links


  • Curtis Mayfield's Chicago Soul - tracks produced by Mayfield, 1963-1965
  • The Return of Superfly (1990) - soundtrack featuring Mayfield
  • Mayfield : Remixed (2005) - remixes. Not recommended by Simon! :)
  • "The 1st Annual benefit for the Congressional Black Caucus" (1975) - live version of "Give Me Your Love"
  • "Save the Children" (OST, 1973) - features live "We People Who Are Darker Than Blue" & "Give Me Your Love", also see on youtube.
  • "Keep On Keepin On" - Live and Studio Rarities
  • "Newport in New York '72, Vol. 6" - features live "Stone Junkie" / "Pusherman"

  • "Live in Montreux" (1987)

  • 'Give It Up' - Best of the Curtom Years 1970-1977
  • 'Superfly' (full solo career comp) (1999)
  • ''Move On Up - The Singles Anthology 1970-'90''

  • Estival Jazz (1988, soundboard)
  • Live @ Modernes FM, Bremen 23-03-1990
  • Live at the Trojan Horse (1990)

Article From: Soulwalking

Visit Blaxpploitation Pride for information on your favorite blaxploitation movies and soundtracks.